The one country with a local licence in the list
Forex brokers in South Africa
South Africa is the only market in this wave where a broker on our list is locally authorised: Tickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd holds FSP 49464 with the Financial Sector Conduct Authority. Two brokers offer rand accounts, one publishes South African payment rails, and the licence question has a second half most comparison pages skip.
Checked against each broker's own pages and the regulator's register
The nine brokers we track, read from South Africa
Three columns matter locally and they do not point at the same broker: the licence, the account currency, and the payment rail. Only one broker scores on the first, two on the second, and a different one on the third.
| Broker | FSCA authorisation | Rand accounts | South African rails published | Minimum to start |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tickmill | Tickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd, FSP 49464, Johannesburg | Yes — USD, EUR, GBP and ZAR | None published; cards, bank wire, Skrill, Neteller, UnionPay, crypto | 100 USD, EUR or GBP |
| FxPro | None named in its own disclosure | Yes — ZAR as a wallet and trading-account currency | None published; cards, bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, PayPal | Not published |
| Deriv | None — its entities are Maltese and offshore | No — its payment table quotes USD | Capitec Pay 10–4,000 USD, Ozow 10–4,000, ZingPay, Vodacom, One Voucher | From 1 USD — the floor is set by the method |
| RoboForex | None named in its own disclosure | No | None published | 10 USD |
| LiteFinance | None named in its own disclosure | No | None published | 50 USD |
| Libertex | None named in its own disclosure | No | None published | 100 EUR first deposit |
| Alpari | None named in its own disclosure | Not stated on pages we could capture | Not stated on pages we could capture | 30 USD on the Micro account |
| Fortrade | None named in its own disclosure | No | Not stated — its FAQ answers do not render for us | Not published |
| Bybit | None named in its own disclosure | No | None published | Not published |
Licence details from Tickmill's own disclosure, captured 24 August 2026; account currencies and payment methods from each broker's own pages, captured 23–24 August 2026. The FSCA's register at fsca.co.za is the authoritative source for any authorisation named here.
FSP and ODP: the distinction comparison pages skip
South Africa has two authorisations that both get called “FSCA regulated”. An FSP licence authorises a firm to provide financial services — advising on and intermediating products. An ODP authorisation, introduced under the Financial Markets Act framework, applies to a firm that acts as counterparty to over-the-counter derivatives, which is exactly what a CFD broker does when it takes the other side of your trade.
The difference is not academic. A broker holding only an FSP licence and acting as your counterparty is doing something the FSCA treats as requiring the second authorisation, and the FSCA has enforced against firms on precisely that point.
So the question to ask is not whether a broker is FSCA regulated but which authorisation it holds and under which company name. Tickmill's disclosure names Tickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd, FSP 49464, at an address in Melrose Arch, Johannesburg. Which categories that FSP number carries is shown in the FSCA's own register, and that register — not this table, and not any broker's marketing — is where to confirm it.
Rand accounts, and what they change
Two brokers publish ZAR: Tickmill lists it among its base currencies alongside USD, EUR and GBP, and FxPro offers it both as a wallet and as a trading-account currency. For a South African trader that removes a conversion on the way in, on the way out, and in every profit-and-loss figure in between.
It does not remove currency exposure. The instruments are priced in dollars, so a rand-denominated account carries the USD/ZAR rate inside every position whether or not you were intending to trade it — a strengthening rand shrinks a dollar profit measured at home.
Which is a reason to be deliberate rather than to avoid it: an account in your own currency makes the numbers legible, and legibility is worth more to most traders than an extra layer of optimisation.
Local payment rails
Only Deriv publishes South African methods, and it publishes several: Capitec Pay and Ozow at 10 to 4,000 USD per transaction, plus ZingPay, Vodacom and voucher-based options. Everyone else routes South African clients to cards, bank transfers and international e-wallets.
Instant EFT rails like Ozow and Capitec Pay clear in minutes and avoid the card networks entirely, which matters because cross-border card transactions are the step most likely to be declined or repriced by a bank.
The rule that governs the exit is the same everywhere: money returns by the route it arrived, at least up to the deposited amount, and the paying account must be in the trader's own name.
How to weigh it
If local recourse is the priority, the shortlist is short and starts with the broker that has a South African company and an FSCA number — then continues in the FSCA register, which lists many more locally authorised providers than the nine we track.
If funding friction is the priority, the answer is different: rails that avoid the card networks are worth more day to day than a licence you will never invoke, and only one broker here publishes them.
And if the account currency is what matters, two brokers offer rand and seven do not. These three criteria genuinely do not converge on one broker, which is the honest finding of this page — the choice depends on which of the three you actually care about.
Questions people ask
Which forex brokers are FSCA regulated?
Of the nine we track, one names a South African entity: Tickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd, FSP 49464. Many more locally authorised providers exist — the FSCA's own register is the authoritative list, and it is where to confirm any licence claim.
What is the difference between an FSP licence and an ODP authorisation?
An FSP licence covers providing financial services; an ODP authorisation covers acting as counterparty to over-the-counter derivatives, which is what a CFD broker does when it takes the other side of a trade. Both are described as “FSCA regulated”, and only the register shows which a firm holds.
Can I open a trading account in rand?
With two of the nine: Tickmill lists ZAR among its base currencies, and FxPro offers it as both a wallet and an account currency. The instruments are still priced in dollars, so the USD/ZAR rate sits inside every position either way.
Which brokers accept Capitec Pay or Ozow?
Of the nine, only Deriv publishes them — both at 10 to 4,000 USD per transaction, alongside ZingPay and Vodacom. The others route South African clients to cards, bank transfers and international e-wallets.
Is forex trading legal in South Africa?
Yes, and it is regulated more thoroughly than in most of the region: the FSCA licenses providers and requires an ODP authorisation from firms acting as counterparty. Exchange-control rules on moving money offshore are a separate matter and sit with the Reserve Bank and your own bank.
Does an FSCA licence protect my money?
It governs conduct, capital and client-money handling, and it gives you a local authority to complain to. It does not protect you from losses: the brokers here publish that 69% to 83% of their retail clients lose money, and a local licence does not change that.