Swap-free accounts, in detail
Islamic forex brokers
Eight of the nine brokers we track offer a swap-free or Islamic account. Two of them publish exactly what replaces the overnight swap — ForTrade charges swap-free clients every Thursday for positions held overnight on Wednesday, and FxPro says fees may apply after a certain number of days. The rest point to a separate policy or say nothing on the account page.
Conditions checked against each broker's own pages
Swap-free accounts, side by side
Brokers that publish what replaces the swap come first, because that is the part which decides whether the account does what it says. Availability alone is easy to advertise; terms are not.
| Broker | How it is opened | What it covers | What replaces the swap | Entity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ForTrade | Register in full, send ID documents, then email support to request the account | Described as designed for clients of the Muslim faith | A charge every Thursday on all positions open at 21:00 GMT between Wednesday and Thursday, pro-rata per lot for positions closed inside that window; the broker may cancel the account if it detects abuse | FCA, CySEC, ASIC, CIRO, FSC Mauritius and DFSA entities |
| FxPro | Email request to the back office; swap-free accounts offered «for religious purposes» | Eligible instruments only | Its own FAQ states that fees may be applied once trades on certain instruments are held for a specific number of days | FCA 509956, FSA Seychelles SD120, SCB Bahamas SIA-F184 |
| Tickmill | Islamic account option on both Classic and Raw at sign-up | The same spreads and commissions as the underlying account | Not stated on the account card | FCA 717270, CySEC 278/15, FSCA 49464, FSA Seychelles |
| LiteFinance | Available on both ECN and Classic accounts | Swap-free trading with a separate terms document for Islamic accounts | Set out in the separate policy rather than on the account page | LiteFinance Global LLC (St Vincent); the CySEC entity does not serve the EEA |
| RoboForex | Marked «Swap-Free Available*» across Pro, Prime, ECN and ProCent | Eligible instruments; the asterisk points to conditions elsewhere | Not stated on the account cards | RoboForex Ltd, FSC Belize 9759600 |
| Deriv | Swap-free MT5 accounts offered alongside the standard ones | Includes gold, which its own gold page states explicitly | Not stated on the platform page | MFSA for the EEA; offshore entities elsewhere |
| Libertex | A swap-free section of the instrument list rather than a separate account | Only the instruments in that section | Nothing in place of the swap, but the platform's own trading commission and other fees still apply to every position | Indication Investments Ltd, CySEC 164/12 |
| Bybit | Publishes a dedicated Islamic Account page | Presented as Shariah-compliant access to its products | Not stated | CFDs provided by Infra Capital rather than by Bybit |
| Alpari | No swap-free or Islamic account found on the pages we checked | — | — | Parlance Trading Ltd, MISA (Comoros) |
Scroll the table sideways →
Read from each broker's own pages on 24 August 2026. Where a cell says the replacement is not stated, the broker offers the account but publishes no fee schedule where we could read it — that document is the one to ask for before opening.
Four questions that separate these accounts
How it is opened. Tickmill and LiteFinance offer it as a standing option at sign-up; ForTrade and FxPro require a written request after registration, which means an account that is not swap-free until someone processes it. RoboForex marks it across all four account types with an asterisk.
What it covers. Swap-free almost never means every instrument — FxPro limits it to eligible ones, Libertex implements it as a filtered section of the instrument list rather than an account type at all. Gold is the instrument worth checking specifically, because its swap is large: Deriv states swap-free applies to gold on its own gold page.
What replaces the swap, and when. This is where the accounts genuinely differ, and only two brokers answer it on the page: ForTrade with a weekly Thursday charge, FxPro with fees after a number of days. Everywhere else the answer sits in a policy document, or nowhere we could read.
Whether the terms can be withdrawn. ForTrade reserves the right to cancel a swap-free account if it detects abuse and close open trades at its discretion — a clause worth knowing about before it is invoked.
What a swap-free account costs against a standard one
On the spread and commission, nothing: Tickmill's Islamic option carries the same pricing as the account underneath it, and the others describe it the same way. The cost, where it exists, is the administration charge that replaces the swap.
Compare that with what the swap actually costs, which is easiest to see on gold: RoboForex publishes −60 points on a long position per night against an $18 spread to enter. Three nights of holding costs ten times the entry. Against a charge of that size, a fixed weekly administration fee can be cheaper as well as permissible — which is worth knowing even for a trader with no religious requirement at all.
The catch is that swap-free accounts are usually restricted to clients who request them for religious reasons, and brokers monitor for what they call abuse. ForTrade's clause is explicit about it.
This page does not tell you whether it is permissible
It lists accounts and their terms. Whether an account with an administration fee in place of a swap satisfies the requirement — and whether a cash-settled contract with no delivery does — is a question for a qualified religious authority, and ForTrade's own swap-free page says exactly that.
What to bring to that conversation is on our page about the question itself: whether the account is swap-free, what replaces the swap and on what schedule, whether the instrument settles in cash, and what leverage applies.
Questions people ask
Which forex brokers offer Islamic accounts?
Eight of the nine we track: ForTrade, FxPro, Tickmill, LiteFinance, RoboForex, Deriv, Libertex and Bybit. We found no swap-free or Islamic account published on Alpari's pages.
How do I open a swap-free account?
At Tickmill and LiteFinance it is an option on the account itself. ForTrade and FxPro require an email request after full registration, so the account is not swap-free until the broker processes it — worth doing before you hold anything overnight.
Do Islamic accounts cost more?
Not in spread or commission — the pricing matches the underlying account. What may cost is the administration fee that replaces the swap: ForTrade charges swap-free clients every Thursday for positions held overnight on Wednesday, and FxPro applies fees once positions are held beyond a certain number of days.
Does swap-free cover all instruments?
Rarely. FxPro limits it to eligible instruments, and Libertex offers a filtered swap-free section rather than an account type. Check gold specifically, since its overnight cost is the largest: Deriv states swap-free applies to gold on its gold page.
Can a broker cancel a swap-free account?
ForTrade publishes exactly that right — if it detects abuse it may cancel the account with immediate effect and close open trades at its discretion. Other brokers keep similar terms in their policy documents.
Does a swap-free account make trading halal?
It removes one of the mechanics scholars examine, not all of them, and this is not a page that issues rulings. ForTrade's own swap-free page advises seeking independent advice from a qualified religious authority, which remains the right answer.
Getting the terminal itself is a different question — which version to download and where from. The full cost arithmetic for every account here is on what a trade actually costs, and a demo account Whether forex is permissible at all is a separate question, taken up on is forex halal, and the overnight cost these accounts remove is largest on gold — worked out on gold trading brokers.