ForexBrokers.

Two of nine, on different terms

Forex brokers that accept M-Pesa

M-Pesa funding is rarer than the comparison pages suggest. Of the nine brokers we track, two publish it on their own sites: Deriv, at 5 to 1,000 US dollars per transaction in each direction, and LiteFinance, from one dollar with automatic withdrawals up to $2,000 a day. The other seven route Kenyan traders through cards, bank transfers and international e-wallets.

Checked against each broker's own pages and the regulator's register

Who publishes M-Pesa, and on what terms

Read from each broker's own payment pages rather than from a comparison table. A broker that does not publish the method is listed as such — that is a different statement from “refuses it”, and where a payment page would not render for us at all, the cell says that instead.

Who publishes M-Pesa, and on what terms
BrokerM-PesaLimitsFees as publishedOther local rails
DerivYes5–1,000 USD per transaction, deposits and withdrawals alike; instant both waysNone stated in its payment tableAirtel, MTN, Equitel, Tigo, Vodacom, plus Deriv P2P up to 10,000 USD a day
LiteFinanceYes — listed as M-Pesa KenyaFrom $1; automatic withdrawals up to $2,000 a day0% plus 100 KES, with a note that the broker compensates the payment system's deposit feeNone published beyond cards, bank wire, crypto and e-wallets
TickmillNot publishedCards, bank wire, Skrill, Neteller, UnionPay, crypto
RoboForexNot publishedCards, bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, SticPay
FxProNot publishedCards, bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, PayPal
LibertexNot publishedCards, SEPA transfer, Skrill, Trustly, PayPal
AlpariNot stated — its payment pages render only navigation for usNot stated
FortradeNot stated — its FAQ answers do not render for usCards and bank wire, per its withdrawal rules
BybitNot publishedCrypto rails; it is a crypto exchange rather than a forex broker

Deriv's payment methods table, captured 23 August 2026; LiteFinance's electronic transfers page, captured 24 August 2026; the remaining brokers' own payment pages, captured 23–25 August 2026.

The two offers are not the same offer

Deriv publishes a flat envelope: 5 to 1,000 US dollars per transaction, in and out, marked instant in both directions, with no fee shown in its payment table. The ceiling is per transaction rather than per day, so larger amounts are split rather than blocked.

LiteFinance starts lower and caps differently. Its M-Pesa Kenya card shows a one-dollar minimum, a fee of 0% plus 100 shillings with a note that the broker compensates the payment system's deposit fee, and automatic withdrawals of up to $2,000 a day — a daily limit rather than a per-transaction one, and one that runs without manual approval.

The account minimums pull the other way, though. LiteFinance's published account minimum is $50 while Deriv sets no single figure and lets the payment method decide, so the one-dollar M-Pesa floor is about the payment rail rather than about opening the account.

Why only two

M-Pesa is not a card network a broker can bolt on globally. It is a local payment rail requiring a local integration, and it appears where a broker has deliberately gone after East African clients rather than as a default.

That is also why the seven others are not necessarily refusing Kenyan customers — they are routing them through what they already run: Visa and Mastercard, bank transfers, Skrill, Neteller. Which works, until an issuing bank declines a cross-border transaction or the conversion prices itself unhelpfully.

So the practical question is not who accepts Kenyan traders but who accepts Kenyan money without a detour. On that, the list is two brokers long.

How the funding actually goes

Deposits move from the M-Pesa line to the broker's cashier and land in the trading wallet in minutes. Both brokers publish the same direction of travel for withdrawals: the money returns to M-Pesa, which is the general rule everywhere — funds go back the way they came, at least up to the amount deposited.

The line must be registered in your own name, matching the trading account. Third-party payments are refused under anti-money-laundering rules at every regulated broker, and this is the single most common reason an M-Pesa deposit is reversed rather than credited.

Verification comes before the first withdrawal, so completing identity and address checks at signup is what keeps the exit clear. Keep the M-Pesa confirmation message and the transaction reference for every deposit: if anything stalls, that record is the case.

Watch the per-transaction ceiling rather than discovering it. A 1,000-dollar cap at Deriv means larger funding is two transactions; LiteFinance's $2,000 daily automatic limit means a larger withdrawal waits for the next day or for manual processing.

The M-Pesa agent problem

Where mobile money is the main funding route, there are people offering to deposit into your trading account for you, to trade it on your behalf, or to sell a bot that will. Sending money to an individual's M-Pesa line is not a broker deposit; it is a payment to a stranger, and it is unrecoverable.

The same applies in reverse: any request for a payment to release a withdrawal is a recovery scam rather than a broker process. No legitimate broker charges a fee to give you your own money, and our catalogue of forex scams describes the pattern in full.

The rule is dull and it works: your own line, your own account, your own name, your own trades.

What M-Pesa support does not tell you

Nothing about the licence. Neither of the two brokers here holds a Kenyan CMA licence — none of the nine does — so the regulator you would complain to sits abroad, in Malta, Belize, St Vincent or the Seychelles depending on the entity named in your client agreement.

Nothing about leverage, either, and the gap is instructive: Kenya's own rules cap leverage at 400 times a client's deposit, while both of these brokers advertise more than that offshore. A convenient payment rail and a locally licensed product are separate things.

And nothing about cost. The spread is what you pay on every trade, forever; the payment method is what you pay once at each end. Pick the broker on the first and check the second, not the other way round.

If your broker does not take M-Pesa

Other mobile money may still work. Deriv publishes Airtel, MTN, Equitel, Tigo and Vodacom alongside M-Pesa, most capped at 150 US dollars a deposit rather than 1,000 — smaller, but the same avoidance of the card networks.

Peer-to-peer is the other route. Deriv P2P moves funds in local currency between users, with a published daily ceiling of 10,000 US dollars and completion within an hour. It is convenient and it puts a counterparty in the chain, which is a different risk profile from a payment processor.

Otherwise you are on cards and bank transfers, where the conversion is priced by your bank and cross-border declines are common. That is workable — most Kenyan clients of the other seven brokers do exactly this — but it is worth knowing before choosing rather than after.

Questions people ask

Which forex brokers accept M-Pesa?

Of the nine we track, two publish it on their own sites: Deriv, at 5 to 1,000 USD per transaction each way, and LiteFinance, from $1 with automatic withdrawals up to $2,000 a day. The other seven publish cards, bank transfers and e-wallets instead.

What is the minimum M-Pesa deposit?

Five US dollars at Deriv and one dollar at LiteFinance for the payment itself. LiteFinance's published account minimum is $50, so the low payment floor applies to the rail rather than to opening the account.

Can I withdraw to M-Pesa as well?

Yes at both. Deriv publishes 5 to 1,000 USD out, marked instant; LiteFinance runs automatic withdrawals to M-Pesa up to $2,000 a day. Money returns by the route it arrived, so an M-Pesa deposit is an M-Pesa withdrawal.

Are there fees?

Deriv's payment table shows limits and timings but no fee for M-Pesa. LiteFinance publishes 0% plus 100 KES, with a note that it compensates the payment system's deposit fee. Safaricom's own charges sit outside both.

Why was my M-Pesa deposit reversed?

Most often a name mismatch: the M-Pesa line must be registered to the same person as the trading account, because third-party payments are refused under anti-money-laundering rules. Amounts outside the published limits and incomplete verification are the other two common causes.

Does accepting M-Pesa mean a broker is regulated in Kenya?

No. It is a payment integration, not a licence. Neither of these brokers holds a CMA licence — none of the nine does — and Kenya's rules would cap leverage at 400× for a broker that did.

The country page is forex trading in Kenya, what a Kenyan licence would require is on the CMA page, and Deriv's own mobile money mechanics are on funding Deriv with M-Pesa.