No local licence exists to check
Forex trading in Nigeria
Nigeria and Kenya are usually lumped together, and on the question that matters they are opposites. Kenya licenses online forex brokers and publishes the register; Nigeria's SEC register has no such category at all — its operator list runs to Broker/Dealer, Fund Manager, Issuing House and Registrar. So the useful Nigerian questions are different ones: which broker takes naira, and how the money moves.
Checked against each broker's own pages and the regulator's register
The nine brokers we track, read from Nigeria
A naira account removes a conversion at every deposit, every withdrawal and every profit calculation. Two brokers of the nine offer something in that direction, and they offer different things.
| Broker | Naira supported | Nigerian rails published | What you fund with instead | Minimum to start |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FxPro | NGN as a wallet and trading-account currency, depending on jurisdiction | None published | Cards, bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, PayPal | Not published |
| Deriv | No — its payment table quotes USD | OnlineNaira, 10–500 USD in and 5–10,000 out; also Airtel and MTN mobile money | Cards, bank transfer, e-wallets, crypto | From 1 USD — the floor is set by the method |
| Tickmill | No — USD, EUR, GBP and ZAR | None published | Cards, bank wire, Skrill, Neteller, UnionPay, crypto | 100 USD, EUR or GBP |
| RoboForex | No | None published | Cards, bank transfer, Skrill, Neteller, SticPay | 10 USD |
| LiteFinance | No | None published | Bank wire, cards, crypto, e-wallets | 50 USD |
| Libertex | No | None published | Cards, SEPA transfer, Skrill, Trustly, PayPal | 100 EUR first deposit |
| Alpari | Not stated on pages we could capture | Not stated on pages we could capture | Not stated on pages we could capture | 30 USD on the Micro account |
| Fortrade | No | Not stated — its FAQ answers do not render for us | Cards and bank wire, per its withdrawal rules | Not published |
| Bybit | No | None published | Crypto rails; it is a crypto exchange rather than a forex broker | Not published |
Account and wallet currencies from each broker's own FAQ and payment pages, captured 23–24 August 2026; Nigerian licence position from the SEC's register of capital market operators at sec.gov.ng, checked 24 August 2026.
Who regulates what, and why the usual question does not apply
The SEC's public register of capital market operators lists the categories it licenses: Broker/Dealer, Corporate and Individual Investment Adviser, Fund and Portfolio Manager, Issuing House, Registrar, Trustees, Commodity Exchange and the supporting professions. There is no retail forex or CFD category in it — so there is no Nigerian licence for an international broker to hold, and no local register in which to check one.
The Central Bank of Nigeria is the other authority people expect to appear here. It manages the naira, the banking system and foreign-exchange flows; its rules bind banks rather than brokers, and a page advertising “CBN-regulated brokers” is describing something that does not exist as a licence.
None of that makes trading illegal for you — it makes the licence question one you answer abroad. The entity named in your client agreement is licensed somewhere: the UK, Cyprus, Belize, the Seychelles, St Vincent. That regulator is the one you would complain to, and finding out which it is takes a minute at signup.
What a naira account actually saves you
A conversion in both directions, priced by whoever performs it. Fund a USD account from a naira card and the rate is your bank's; withdraw and it is applied again, in the other direction, on a balance that has meanwhile moved with the market.
FxPro publishes NGN among its wallet and trading-account currencies, subject to jurisdiction — the only broker of the nine to do so. Deriv takes the other route: dollar accounts funded through Nigerian rails, including OnlineNaira and the Airtel and MTN mobile money networks, with the conversion happening at the payment provider instead of the bank.
Neither removes currency risk. A naira-denominated account still trades instruments priced in dollars, and a dollar account held from Nigeria still converts at the end. What they change is how many times you pay a spread on the conversion, and who sets it.
Getting money in and out
Card deposits are the default route and the one most likely to fail: cross-border card transactions from Nigeria are declined by some issuers as a matter of policy, and limits are set by the bank rather than the broker.
Bank transfers work but are slower, and the receiving entity is usually offshore, which makes the transfer an international one with the documentation that implies. Mobile money and local processors — where a broker publishes them — avoid both problems and carry their own per-transaction ceilings.
Whatever the route, the return leg follows it: withdrawals go back the way the money came, at least up to the amount deposited, and the paying account must be in the trader's own name. Choosing a funding method without checking the withdrawal side is how people end up with a balance they can see and cannot move.
The local risk worth naming
Nigeria has a large and enthusiastic trading scene, and around it a well-developed industry of signal groups, account managers and guaranteed-return schemes. Those are not brokers, and the collapses that periodically follow them are not broker failures.
The distinction to hold onto is simple: a broker sells you access to a market and takes a spread; a scheme sells you a return and takes your capital. Anyone promising a fixed percentage, trading your account for you, or asking for a payment to release a withdrawal belongs in the second category, and our catalogue of forex scams describes each pattern in detail.
The protection is procedural rather than clever: your own account, your own name, your own trades, an entity you have looked up in a register, and no money in the hands of an intermediary.
Questions people ask
Is forex trading legal in Nigeria?
Nothing prohibits an individual from trading currencies or CFDs with their own money. What does not exist is a Nigerian licence for retail forex brokers — the SEC's register of capital market operators has no such category, so the broker you use is licensed abroad or not at all.
Are any brokers regulated by the SEC or CBN for forex?
No, because neither issues that kind of licence. The SEC registers brokers/dealers, fund managers, issuing houses and similar; the CBN regulates banks and FX flows. Pages advertising CBN-regulated forex brokers are describing an authorisation that does not exist.
Which brokers offer naira accounts?
Of the nine we track, FxPro lists NGN among its wallet and trading-account currencies, subject to jurisdiction. Deriv does not, but publishes Nigerian funding rails — OnlineNaira plus Airtel and MTN mobile money — into dollar accounts.
Why do my card deposits keep failing?
Usually the issuing bank rather than the broker: cross-border card transactions from Nigeria are declined by some banks as policy, and card limits are the bank's. Local processors and mobile money, where a broker publishes them, avoid that route entirely.
How do I check a broker is real?
Find the entity named in the client agreement, then look it up in that regulator's register — the FCA, CySEC, the FSC in Belize, the Seychelles FSA. If the agreement names a company that appears in no register, stop there.
How much do I need to start?
Minimums among the nine run from about 1 USD to 100 USD, but that is the wrong number to plan with. The smallest EUR/USD position moves roughly $5 per fifty pips, so an account needs to absorb several of those without being wiped out.